Candy Warehouse

Old Time Candy - Yummy Candy, Discount Prices - Feel Like a Kid!

Cool and wacky candy from Japan

Are Smarties kosher?

Categories: Candy,Chocolate Candy,Foreign (non-US) Candy

Tags:, , ,

U.K. Smarties

I got an email about a week ago from a reader asking:

I would like to know if you know if there is any kosher certification either in the states or the U.K. regarding Smarties.

After clarifying whether he meant U.S. or U.K. Smarties (he meant U.K. Smarties), I started poking around online and couldn’t find the answer so I went straight to the source and asked Nestle. After a few days I got the reply:

Thank you for contacting Nestlé. We welcome questions and comments from our consumers.

Smarties is a Nestlé brand marketed by Nestlé outside the United States. Nestlé does not import it into the United States. We have been informed by Nestlé Canada, that the Smarties manufactured in Canada are not Kosher Certified.

We appreciate your interest in our products and hope you’ll visit our website often for latest information on Nestlé products and promotions.

Consumer Response Representative

So, there you have it. Smarties are not kosher.

UPDATE: Here is a list of candies and their kosher status.

candy, chocolate, sweets, smarties, kosher, food

Related Articles:

6 Responses to “Are Smarties kosher?”

  1. 1
    richard says:

    “carletti dragee” a danish company makes smarties style sweets that are kosher-parev and vegetarian, also these are suitable for people with milk allergies! They come in a pink bag and are available at kosher food shops… also “color planet” are like smarties but kosher-milky.

  2. 2
    Rob says:

    Smarties (red only) have carmine, which is derived from beetles. That is why they are not kosher.

  3. 3
    me says:

    No, Rob, it’s the pink and purple ones that are from beetles. Cochineal, it’s called.

  4. 4
    IJZ says:

    Is Nestle’s (Rowntree’s)”Coffee Crisp” chocolate bar (made
    in Canada,and possibly in Europe)KOSHER?

  5. 5
    debbie says:

    As of January 2009 Smarties are kosher is the UK as they have removed the cochineal (carmine) colouring from them! Yippee!

  6. 6
    ka says:

    Apparantly, they are stil not kosher because they contain whey derived from animal rennet.

Leave a Reply

(Please press only ONCE then wait)

What is 3 + 12 ?
Please leave these two fields as-is:
IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math question.